Bookmark This Page

Holiday Search

Package (Flight + Hotel)
Hotel Only

Child Ages on Date of Return:


Pilot Beach Resort Reviews - Have You Stayed At Pilot Beach Resort?

Your feedback is vital in helping us to continue improving our product and services.

Click the button below to add your holiday review and photos..

Click Here To Write a Review

Recent Holiday at Pilot Beach Hotel

Pilot Beach Hotel
 
(4 out of 5)

Hotel, staff, location and facilities are excellent overall. The only downside is the evening entertainment in the main lounge area. Far too much time and lasting far too long into the evening is the relentless entertainment designed ... Show more

Hotel, staff, location and facilities are excellent overall.

The only downside is the evening entertainment in the main lounge area.

Far too much time and lasting far too long into the evening is the relentless entertainment designed for children.

I am aware there are a lot of children to amuse but there are also a lot of adults as well and these are the people who pay for the holidays.

It would be much better if the childrens' entertainment was finished by 8pm at the latest and either some adult entertainment provided or just nothing would be preferable .

Even better, put the childrens' entertainment somewhere else and leave the lounge to adults.

The resident entertainment team are lovely people but not up to standard for adult entertainment.

However, the music provided in the bar on the other side of the road, was usually very good and we retreated over there most evenings.

Apart from entertainment issue, we really like the hotel and location and would probably come again.

Location:   (4 out of 5) Facilities:   (4 out of 5) Rooms:   (4 out of 5)
Service:   (4 out of 5) Food + Beverages:   (4 out of 5) Cleanliness:   (4 out of 5)

Posted on August 2017

Show less

2nd time visit!

Pilot Beach Hotel
 
(5 out of 5)

Having been last year and not being able to find anywhere that matched the pool/beach combination we returned to Pilot Beach! This year we decided on half board but this allowed us to stay 10 nights instead of 7! We spent around £200 on dr ... Show more

Having been last year and not being able to find anywhere that matched the pool/beach combination we returned to Pilot Beach! This year we decided on half board but this allowed us to stay 10 nights instead of 7! We spent around £200 on drinks as a result but think overall we'd go HB again as we didn't really need the lunch.

Positives - as last year, cleanliness, food is amazing, vast pool spaces and beach quality - again to stroll up to main pool at 10am and get sunbeds is simply great! Quality of entertainment was better I think this year, the "animation" team were fabulous - much better than last year I think. (Jovanna and Nora - stars!)

Negatives - minor quibbles - although our room was sea view (2122) it had a door between us and room 2123. You could hear everything. Not helped by overly noisy families next door tbf. But it wasn't as relaxing as last years room. It was also too small really for 3 emphasised by the fact when we arrived it only had 2 beds...had to bring us the 3rd. Only other niggle is the smoking, you do get used to non smoking environment in England especially around children and food. Occasionally in outside bar/entertainment area we really were in clouds of smoke. Maybe seperate areas should be looked at.

Overall - can't fault the place. Just very good in all important areas. I've only ever returned to a summer holiday destination once before and that was to the Maldives. It really is a great place for a family to relax. Highly recommended.

Location:   (5 out of 5) Facilities:   (5 out of 5) Rooms:   (4 out of 5)
Service:   (5 out of 5) Food + Beverages:   (5 out of 5) Cleanliness:   (5 out of 5)

Review images:

Pilot Beach Hotel Pilot Beach Hotel

Posted on August 2017

Show less

A great hotel and fabulous staff

Pilot Beach Hotel
 
(4 out of 5)

It was our 4th visit to Pilot Beach Hotel and it keeps on getting better. We love the beautiful surroundings and sea views, the comfortable rooms, and hard working staff. We cannot find fault with this hotel we will be returning next year Show more

It was our 4th visit to Pilot Beach Hotel and it keeps on getting better. We love the beautiful surroundings and sea views, the comfortable rooms, and hard working staff. We cannot find fault with this hotel we will be returning next year

Location:   (4 out of 5) Facilities:   (4 out of 5) Rooms:   (5 out of 5)
Service:   (5 out of 5) Food + Beverages:   (5 out of 5) Cleanliness:   (5 out of 5)

Posted on July 2017

Show less

Hotel review

Pilot Beach Hotel
 
(5 out of 5)

Lovely hotel,Have been here several times in April and have never been disappointed.very spacious outdoor areas don't feel as if you are on top of each other and very relaxed for families. Show more

Lovely hotel,Have been here several times in April and have never been disappointed.very spacious outdoor areas don't feel as if you are on top of each other and very relaxed for families.

Location:   (5 out of 5) Facilities:   (5 out of 5) Rooms:   (5 out of 5)
Service:   (5 out of 5) Food + Beverages:   (5 out of 5) Cleanliness:   (5 out of 5)

Posted on May 2017

Show less

Beautiful hotel excellent value

Pilot Beach Hotel
 
(5 out of 5)

Having read the reviews we were really looking forward to this holiday and we were not disappointed. The hotel is lovely, food good, staff friendly and efficient and the room was clean and spacious. There were plenty of sun beds both round ... Show more

Having read the reviews we were really looking forward to this holiday and we were not disappointed. The hotel is lovely, food good, staff friendly and efficient and the room was clean and spacious. There were plenty of sun beds both round the pool and on the beach so there wasn't a mad charge each morning to grab a bed. It also helped that the weather was gorgeous.

Two small frustrations. There should be a designated smoking (or nonsmoking) area in the restaurant. Although we ate outside it is a bit annoying when people start smoking as you're eating. Also we booked a room with a pool view. Which was OK if you stood on tiptoes and looked over the hedge.

However these were minor issues and didn't detract from what is an excellent hotel and my wife and I having a lovely holiday.

We would certainly like to return and would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to friends and family.

Location:   (4 out of 5) Facilities:   (5 out of 5) Rooms:   (5 out of 5)
Service:   (5 out of 5) Food + Beverages:   (4 out of 5) Cleanliness:   (5 out of 5)

Posted on May 2017

Show less

Our little piece of heaven

Pilot Beach Hotel
 
(5 out of 5)

Pilot Beach is our little bit of heaven on Earth. I kept thanking my husband for taking me there again, our fifth time. The standards have remained very high along with cleanliness and friendliness. The Resort is showing no wear and tear an ... Show more

Pilot Beach is our little bit of heaven on Earth. I kept thanking my husband for taking me there again, our fifth time. The standards have remained very high along with cleanliness and friendliness. The Resort is showing no wear and tear and it is so nice to be able to relax from the moment we arrive with the knowledge that everything is amazing.

My favourite memory of the week is walking hand in hand with my husband through the Resort and along the beautiful beach.

You don't have to believe my review because you will only know how wonderful Pilot Beach Resort is by experiencing it for yourself.

Of course you can go there on holiday but you cannot take my wonderful husband to make it PERFECT. Our little piece of heaven on Earth.

Location:   (5 out of 5) Facilities:   (5 out of 5) Rooms:   (5 out of 5)
Service:   (5 out of 5) Food + Beverages:   (5 out of 5) Cleanliness:   (5 out of 5)

Posted on October 2016

Show less

Fantastic Hotel Resort with Amazing Value

Pilot Beach Hotel
 
(5 out of 5)

We travelled to the Pilot Beach Resort in the last two weeks of July and were not sure what to expect as this was our first encounter with Crete. The arrival late at night due to a two hour delay was smoothly handled by the front desk staff ... Show more

We travelled to the Pilot Beach Resort in the last two weeks of July and were not sure what to expect as this was our first encounter with Crete. The arrival late at night due to a two hour delay was smoothly handled by the front desk staff and we could not believe our luck when we got up the next morning and caught a first glimpse of the beautiful resort. We do not have a bad thing to say about our stay: The resort is just the right size, not too big, not too small and more importantly, not overcrowded. It sits right on a beautiful long beach, with complimentary loungers and sun umbrellas for resort guests. The staff were kind and helpful, with a special mention of lovely Maria who looked after our room. Our two teenagers were well catered for and met other teens their age through the informal teen club. The food was delicious and changed every night, with a choice of three restaurants included in the half-board package. We thoroughly recommend Pilot Beach Resort as a family holiday and Crete was also a delightful surprise: Could not find nicer and more hospitable people.

Location:   (5 out of 5) Facilities:   (5 out of 5) Rooms:   (5 out of 5)
Service:   (5 out of 5) Food + Beverages:   (5 out of 5) Cleanliness:   (5 out of 5)

Review images:

Pilot Beach Hotel Pilot Beach Hotel Pilot Beach Hotel Pilot Beach Hotel

Posted on September 2016

Show less

MANAGER THAT IS INTERESTED IN HIS GUESTS - PILOT BEACH

Pilot Beach Hotel
 
(4 out of 5)

This hotel is gorgeous, and worthy of its 5star rating. Everywhere was clean and modern the upkeep of the hotel was excellent. The different pools with wonderful grounds stopped even the kids getting bored. The private beach was just bea ... Show more

This hotel is gorgeous, and worthy of its 5star rating. Everywhere was clean and modern the upkeep of the hotel was excellent.

The different pools with wonderful grounds stopped even the kids getting bored. The private beach was just beautiful. Getting a bed was never a problem. The local village was lovely and only a short stroll (10mins along the beach). We stayed for 10days and had a great variety of food in the resturants the beach one being the best for us with exceptional views and really good service. We ate in the village also - very friendly and welcoming. The ONLY slight issue was that after the evening meal at the hotel everything seemed to end. THE MANAGER WAS EASY TO TALK TO and when we mentioned this, the following night he spoke to entertainment and they had arranged a quiz night - HE really does listen to his customers. Finally a good mix of nationalities English, French, Greek Russian -- NICE RELAXED HOTEL NOT TOO POSH JUST PERFECT... Thank-you

Location:   (5 out of 5) Facilities:   (4 out of 5) Rooms:   (4 out of 5)
Service:   (5 out of 5) Food + Beverages:   (5 out of 5) Cleanliness:   (5 out of 5)

Posted on September 2016

Show less

As good as we hoped!

Pilot Beach Hotel
 
(5 out of 5)

Location - we wanted a great beach this year and this hotel delivered! A fabulous spot on a fabulous beach. The sea was crystal clear and was very gentle in its depth which was perfect for getting our little one used to swimming in the sea. ... Show more

Location - we wanted a great beach this year and this hotel delivered! A fabulous spot on a fabulous beach. The sea was crystal clear and was very gentle in its depth which was perfect for getting our little one used to swimming in the sea. If you're happy to have a hotel based holiday I cannot praise this aspect enough!

Facilities - of a very high standard. The vast array of swimming pools delighted the little one whose confidence in water developed hugely. There's a large main pool complex with a little toddlers splash/slides section and we never had a problem getting sunbeds even at 10am - unheard of in the med! (Same true on the beach)

The hotel also boasts impressive sports, gym, spa facilities. Good to have the free beach towel service too. Also good to have a shop on site which proved very handy for drinks.

Food - again a great range and diversity of food. We mainly dined in the main restaurant and found it both plentiful in quality and range. The usual array of great Greek salads and a very good range of main meals too. The breakfast and lunch options were of equally good standards too with good ranges to suit all tastes. I really cannot fault the food at all. We had full board plus drinks package which gave you either a 500ml beer or 375ml wine or soft drink + 1 l water per person with both lunch and dinner. Seemed reasonable to me. The manager of the hotel was always around too which I thought was impressive. The waiters/waitresses were usually on the mark with efficiency too.

Entertainment - my only slight let down. We thought the overall quality was not good. When there was a professional act like the comedic acrobats and Cuban singers/dancing these were very good. But nights that rely on the in hotel animation team were not as impressive. To be fair the girls were impressive and can certainly dance/entertain but the men - not really! Having these miming to Elvis and other rock legends was not that good in our opinion. (Could also do with a more charismatic compere/host to get the crowd involved). The children's disco that preceded the entertainment was also too short and if I'm honest too early at 815pm - barely gives you time to get ready and eat dinner. I thought last years Cypriot timings were better at 9pm for kids and 10pm for adults.

Room - good quality with everything you need. A little small but you're only sleeping in there so not an issue.

Other tips? Use the shop on basement of main complex for your water/soft drinks. Its hardly a walk and will save you a lot of money. E.g 9 euros bar bill for 3 cokes but in shop they'd cost 4.50!

Also I would get room on beach side. (We did) - gives you great sea view and more quiet I think. The walk to main side was 5 mins which is hardly a chore.

Weather - faultless as expected!

Overall - we had a lovely holiday. I'd certainly return because of both the beach and pools though the food was also very very good. Be aware it's not geared towards the English but that wasn't an issue for us and certainly not a reason to not go as all hotel staff are competent in our language. (An all inclusive option would be good for hotel to have and maybe discount for repeat visits?)

Location:   (5 out of 5) Facilities:   (5 out of 5) Rooms:   (5 out of 5)
Service:   (5 out of 5) Food + Beverages:   (5 out of 5) Cleanliness:   (5 out of 5)

Posted on September 2016

Show less

Wonderfully Relaxing Holiday!

Pilot Beach Hotel
 
(5 out of 5)

We have just returned back from our most relaxing holiday ever! Pilot Beach Resort provided the ideal location for the type of holiday we were looking for on this occasion. With children aged 7 and 9, we were worried we would be at an 'in-b ... Show more

We have just returned back from our most relaxing holiday ever! Pilot Beach Resort provided the ideal location for the type of holiday we were looking for on this occasion. With children aged 7 and 9, we were worried we would be at an 'in-between' stage where our children wanted to do something other than just play in the pool or beach, but equally the youngest wasn't quite old enough to take part in more adventurous pursuits. The resort itself had all the facilities we were looking for, with enough sunbeds etc for everyone, by the pools and on the private beach, even in mid-August. With the guests spread between 2-3 restaurants for each meal, we very rarely had to wait for a table. We went full-board, with the intention of going into the village for evening meals on occasion, but the food was so good, varied and convenient on site that we never got round to it. The options in Georgioupolis were very tempting though, with the village itself being the right balance of being tourist-friendly without being over developed or Anglicised. It was only a 25 minute walk along the beach as well, which was great if you wanted a break from the resort.

The resort is very much a resort of two halves, with the facilities on the beach side of the road having a much more relaxed and sophisticated vibe to it. Our advice, wherever your accommodation within the resort, would be to head to the beach restaurant, bar and pools wherever possible to make the most of your holiday. The difference is only 200 yards or so, so getting there is not really a consideration.

The children had a great time, getting involved in three shows in total during the two weeks we were there, but other than that the activities advertised were a bit disappointing, with activities failing to start on three occasions when we turned up at the appointed time. The animation team usually got round to them eventually, but on least one occasion it was literally hours later. The duty of care standards were not what we were used to either, as apparently you are supposed to sign your children in and out of the kids' club every time, which i only found out on the last day after having used it for a fortnight with no one telling me!

Whilst we didn't pick the hotel on the basis of the adult entertainment, (we didn't even know there was any before we booked, and weren't looking for any in the first place) this was very hit and miss, with a stark difference between the visiting professional entertainers and the efforts of the animation team. The naive charm of the team miming to famous pop stars dressed in Smiffy's best fancy dress stretched to 5 minutes, but after that it was a bit embarrassing and happened too frequently for a supposed 5 star resort.

We would recommend the trips out on the hotel train to Georgioupolis and Lake Kournas, although the hour between being dropped off and picked up is a bit tight in both instances. If you want to travel further afield, we would recommend hiring a car as a coach trip we booked from one of the on site agents proved to be 2 1/2 hours at the destinations with 9 1/2 hours on the coach!

All of the above gripes are fairly minor though, and overall we had a fantastic time, thanks to the wonderful location, great facilities and friendly, helpful staff.

Location:   (5 out of 5) Facilities:   (5 out of 5) Rooms:   (4 out of 5)
Service:   (5 out of 5) Food + Beverages:   (5 out of 5) Cleanliness:   (5 out of 5)

Posted on September 2016

Show less

Summer 2016 at Pilot Beach

Pilot Beach Hotel
 
(5 out of 5)

Really lovely hotel. Three generations of us on holiday and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The accommodation was good and very clean. The food too was good and plentiful with a choice of restaurants. The pool and beach areas were spotless an ... Show more

Really lovely hotel. Three generations of us on holiday and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. The accommodation was good and very clean. The food too was good and plentiful with a choice of restaurants. The pool and beach areas were spotless and there were plenty of sunbeds for everyone. All the staff were very friendly and ready to help with anything. The entertainment/activities team were really good and interacted with the guests.

Would definitely go back sometime soon.

Location:   (4 out of 5) Facilities:   (5 out of 5) Rooms:   (5 out of 5)
Service:   (5 out of 5) Food + Beverages:   (5 out of 5) Cleanliness:   (5 out of 5)

Posted on August 2016

Show less

Pilot Beach Family Holiday

Pilot Beach Hotel
 
(5 out of 5)

A lovely resort. We really enjoyed our stay. The pools and the pool areas were very clean with always lots of loungers and shade if needed. Our junior suite was very spacious and comfortable. We were really pleased to be able to have a bu ... Show more

A lovely resort. We really enjoyed our stay. The pools and the pool areas were very clean with always lots of loungers and shade if needed.

Our junior suite was very spacious and comfortable. We were really pleased to be able to have a buggy available for us at no extra cost. The resort is very child friendly and my granddaughter really enjoyed the little train.

The food was well presented and cooked well. It was sometimes very similar to the night before but we enjoyed eating at the restaurant where we could have a choice of main course, that was then served at your table.

Overall this is a lovely resort and provides a really good holiday.

Location:   (4 out of 5) Facilities:   (5 out of 5) Rooms:   (5 out of 5)
Service:   (4 out of 5) Food + Beverages:   (4 out of 5) Cleanliness:   (5 out of 5)

Posted on June 2016

Show less

Mr & Mrs S at Pilot Beach

Pilot Beach Hotel
 
(5 out of 5)

Had a lovely stay at Pilot Beach Hotel, everything was perfect. Location was slightly out, but there was a great bus service, so managed to get out and about to local towns to browse. Definitely 5* !! Show more

Had a lovely stay at Pilot Beach Hotel, everything was perfect. Location was slightly out, but there was a great bus service, so managed to get out and about to local towns to browse. Definitely 5* !!

Location:   (3 out of 5) Facilities:   (5 out of 5) Rooms:   (5 out of 5)
Service:   (5 out of 5) Food + Beverages:   (5 out of 5) Cleanliness:   (5 out of 5)

Posted on March 2016

Show less

Pilot Beach Summer 2015 - family of 4

Pilot Beach Hotel
 
(5 out of 5)

This was our second visit to Pilot beach having first stayed in 2013. Second time around, we looked at lots of alternatives including recommendations from friends and Tripadvisor first, but in the end we decided to return because we knew ho ... Show more

This was our second visit to Pilot beach having first stayed in 2013. Second time around, we looked at lots of alternatives including recommendations from friends and Tripadvisor first, but in the end we decided to return because we knew how fabulous it was. We wanted a luxurious break that would make us complete switch off whilst knowing the children were having a brilliant time.

Our family check list was:

Relaxing

Pampering

Tasty with choice of food

On safe and pretty private beach

Guaranteed cleanliness and good service

Family friendly

Fun for children.

Beautiful setting

Choice of pools

Not over crowded but still atmospheric

And this is what Pilot Beach delivers

We once again had the most fantastic holiday because the best thing that Pilot beach does is to provide an environment that feels special and luxurious without making you and your children feel like they are on 'best behaviour'. The staff are relaxed yet courteous and you can honestly switch off because you don't have to get caught up in complaining about things that aren't up to scratch.

You are quite isolated which might be a problem for some but there are trips and excursions you can take if you want a change of scenery.

We have stayed at many 5* resorts in Greece and on the Greek Islands but Pilot Beach remains our favourite.

Location:   (4 out of 5) Facilities:   (5 out of 5) Rooms:   (4 out of 5)
Service:   (2 out of 5) Food + Beverages:   (3 out of 5) Cleanliness:   (5 out of 5)

Posted on March 2016

Show less

Beautiful place to stay

Pilot Beach Hotel
 
(5 out of 5)

Pilot beach hotel is gorgeous. The rooms are spotless and we had a lovely view overlooking the beach and sea. The food is really good, never had one bad experience with the food or anything whilst at Pilot Beach Hotel. 10 min walk along ... Show more

Pilot beach hotel is gorgeous. The rooms are spotless and we had a lovely view overlooking the beach and sea. The food is really good, never had one bad experience with the food or anything whilst at Pilot Beach Hotel. 10 min walk along the beach to the little town. The staff are all so friendly and polite and nothing is too much trouble. We have been a few times now and will be going back in the future.

Location:   (4 out of 5) Facilities:   (4 out of 5) Rooms:   (4 out of 5)
Service:   (5 out of 5) Food + Beverages:   (5 out of 5) Cleanliness:   (5 out of 5)

Posted on March 2016

Show less